Media Releases

Edmonton Doctor Named Alberta’s Family Physician of the Year

The Alberta College of Family Physicians Announces Honorees for Excellence in Family Medicine

Edmonton, AB, October 31, 2016 – The Alberta College of Family Physicians (ACFP) is pleased to announce that Dr. Paul Humphries is Alberta’s Family Physician of the Year for 2016. Recipients of this prestigious award are chosen by their peers for making significant contributions to the health and well-being of their communities, dedicating themselves to the education of future generations of family doctors, and most importantly, for providing exceptional care to their patients.

“Paul’s dedication to family medicine, teaching, and patient care is unmatched—my friend and mentor has been our teacher, leader, and advocate for 40 years.” said colleague Dr. John Chmelicek, Post Graduate Program Director, Department of Family Medicine Residency Program, University of Alberta. “Paul has always placed an emphasis on patient-centredness providing care and support with great kindness, compassion, and empathy, which has never been more evident than in his work in palliative care.”

Dr. Paul Humphries practises in Edmonton and is a Professor at the University of Alberta. He has practised full-service family medicine with GP anesthesia, palliative care, obstetrics, and medical teaching. He was the founding director of Northwestern Ontario Family Medicine Residency. Dr. Humphries has been the President of the Alberta College of Family Physicians, Director of Family Medicine Residency programs, Vice Chair of CaRMS, and a member of the CFPC Board and Committee on Accreditation. He often participates in accreditation teams across Canada.

Dr. Humphries represents Alberta as one of 10 national recipients of the CFPC’s Reg L. Perkin Award. This year, Dr. Humphries has also been honoured with the CFPC’s Ian McWhinney Family Medicine Education Award. This award honours excellence in family medicine education and is presented to a teacher of family medicine deemed by his/her peers to have made a unique and innovative contribution which as had a significant national impact on the development of family medicine education in Canada. He and his wife, Sybil, grew up in farming families and now raise horses (and grandchildren) in Alberta.

Along with Alberta’s Family Physician of the Year announcement, the ACFP is pleased to honour the following recipients for this year’s Awards programs:

ACFP Student Leadership – Rising Star Award
University of Alberta – Riley Davidson
University of Calgary – Carli Clemis

Family Medicine Resident Leadership Award
University of Alberta – Dr. Alexei Khair
University of Calgary – Dr. Braden Teitge

ACFP New Professional Award
Dr. Rabiya Jalil, Calgary

Recognition of Excellence
Dr. Hendrik van der Watt, Bonnyville

“Our honorees provide incredible examples of leadership, dedication, and compassion,” says ACFP Award and Recognition Committee Chair, Dr. Joan Horton. “We are very proud to recognize these individuals who model excellence in primary care.”

The ACFP’s Awards Program reviews nominations on an annual basis and recognizes dedicated students, family medicine residents, and family physicians. The Call for Nominations for 2017 opens on November 7, 2016, which kicks off Family Doctor Week in Canada, November 7th to the 12th. In celebration of Alberta family physicians, the ACFP is accepting patient stories that illustrate why their family doctors rock at

Photo file of Dr. Paul Humphries

 – 30 –

Past Media Releases